3, 2, 1, ACTION!

Morgan and I have decided that with the inevitable arrival of the baby that we need a new camera.  Actually we think we need TWO new cameras; a still-photography camera and a video camera.  The last time we purchased a camera was 2001 and so technology has changed a bit.  It seems the latest rage is to get a Digital SLR camera (a dSLR as those in the “biz” say), but we just don’t know what to get and what matters.  Also, it seems that there are two types of video cameras now; ones with harddrives and ones with removable flash memory.  Again, we are unsure of the pros and cons of each.

We currently are debating between a Nikon dSLR and a Canon dSLR, but we really don’t have a clue.  It may be that we just need to buy a regular digital camera and not a dSLR (but the sales lady made some good points about catching kids emotions on a dSLR, but we may just be suckers).  And we haven’t even begun to debate about video cameras yet.

We are doing some research on cnet.com, but we were hoping that all 3 of you that read this blog (okay, who are we kidding, all 2 of you) can help us make this big decision.  If you have a camera, video or regular, and you love it or hate it, please let us know.  Any and all advice is welcome in the comments section!

“And I’m spent”

-Austin Powers

15 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

15 responses to “3, 2, 1, ACTION!

  1. I’m curious as to what comes of this, too, since I don’t have a video camera, myself. I do have an Olympus digital camera from a few years ago that I’ve been quite pleased with, and it does allow for short, silent, low-resolution videos, but it’s hardly sufficient for that purpose.

  2. Tom

    First of all, yes, you are a sucker who will listen to anyone that gives you a hat. Secondly, I have no idea when it comes to cameras.

    So, there you go.

  3. Robert

    Tom, no surprise that you don’t know anything about cameras since in Mississippi photography is still done with a turkey feather brush, some red clay, and some ashes from the fire that you just discovered…

  4. Leslie

    For some strange reasons, we’ve had similar conversations lately around the Roper household!!

    I have a Canon dSLR, and love it. “Real” photographers (read: camera snobs) lean towards the Nikon, but the Canon is incredibly easy to use. We have a regular digital as well (the dSLR’s are large and sometimes a pain to lug around), and the salesperson was right- you get such better pictures with the dSLR. I’ve had mine for a couple of years now, and love it– it was definitely worth the extra cost.

    We don’t have a video camera (yet), but are looking into getting one . Jeff researched them when we were still in ATL and he was buying some for Trinity, and feels very strongly that harddrives are the way to go. Knowing nothing about them on my own, I’m going with him on that one.

    Good luck!

  5. Christopher Young

    Hey Robert and Morgan!

    I read the blog too…so you can add me to your list of loyal fans!

    As far as the digital cameras go, the SLR’s are the great ones to get. Not quite as portable but they produce great shots! They are getting easier to carry around though!

    The video cameras have changed a lot since our family last bought one but I bet the harddrive ones are good. You’d be able to fit more footage on there without having to change the memory sticks!

    Good luck shopping!

  6. Spears

    Hey Robert,
    I have a Nikon D50 that I’ve had for about year and half I really love it. Many of the pictures I’ve taken with it are on my flickr site: http://www.flickr.com/photos/someofeverything/

    You may want to check out some of the pictures to see how it looks in diffrent senarios i.e up close, through glass, landscapes, etc. A few of the sets are older and taken with and less advanced digital camera. It should tell you on the photo info what camera was used. The zoo photos are particularly useful. Hope all is well, tell your Dad and Mom I said hi!
    Spears

  7. Sarah

    Yeah! Baby pictures! If you get the big camera, I’m sure you will have awesome Christmas cards next year.

    I would suggest that you also have a nice small, slim, inexpensive, stick it in a pocket of the diaper bag camera too. Babies have TONS of stuff and you may not have room for a big camera by the time you’re loaded up with bottles, bibs, diapers, wipes, burp rags, oh my gosh you have poo everywhere extra clothes, toys for entertainment, blankets, car seats, strollers, pack-n-plays, etc… Besides if you’re anything like us, you’ll take a million pictures of the kid anyway (have you seen Daren’s FB page?) and one or two of the are bound to be absolutely adorable no matter what kind of camera you’re using.

    We’ll be interested to see what kind of video camera you end up getting, that looks like one is on the wish list at the Hofmann household as well.

  8. rachel harrod

    I figured I should put my two cents in since its my major! I have a Nikon DSLR and love it my sister has a Canon DSLR and loves it! I think its all how you feel and like the image!
    DSLR and point and shoot is the difference I like to talk about! DSLR great photos and you can catch things fast but you cant throw it in your back pocket running out the door! I think sometimes the point and shoot takes just as good photos as DSLR!!! if you don’t need really large photos then DSLR isn’t really a good spend. If you just want to remember the life of your child as they grow go point and shoot a good one with 8 mega pixels or so!!!! I hope this helps and isn’t to much information! I had my DSLR first and got the point and shoot cause I wanted the smaller one for trips to the zoo or museum!!!

    love reading and catching up!!!

    peace

  9. susan

    I facebooked my response to Morgan, and I am sure she will share with you. Love the Canon dsrl. I am a loyal blog reader. You are on my google reader account!

  10. Hooker

    I don’t think that you could go wrong with either the Canon or Nikon, but I think that the dSLR is definitely the way to go. Whenever I have been looking for digital cameras, this site has always been the most help: http://www.dpreview.com
    Great full reviews, and even the user reviews are often helpful (which I think is rare). Whatever camera you get, just make sure that you get nice lenses to go along with it. It is really worth going and talking to the nice people at Showcase Camera and Video at Cheshire Bridge and LaVista (by the Publix). They have been there forever and are great people. Good luck!

  11. Karen Velardi Harris

    OK .. So the mom of three little girls agrees with Sarah..you should buy a smaller inexpensive camera (with a well padded case) to throw in the diaper bag for the moments you never dreamed of…. that also records video as well… As for the dslr I don’t have one because I only have 10 hands and don’t want to ruin the really nice camera…

    I have a casio exilim… highly recommended by one of the Plastic surgeon I work with..I figured if it was good enough for him..good enough for me.

    I don’t have a separate video camera..so I can’t speak for them.

    Good luck.. and nice job on the stairs.

    Karen:)

  12. Phil Brown

    Hey Hay’s,
    Nikon just came out with a Digital SLR that also shoots video. Might be something to look into. Kara and I have an Olympus SLR and are not huge fans of it. I’d stick with Nikon or Canon. Their image processors are better and work better in lower light situations. The new Nikon is the D90 I believe. http://chsvimg.nikon.com/products/imaging/lineup/d90/en/d-movie/#c-2

  13. I have a Nikon s210 and I like it. The only annoying feature is that is has a bit of delay, so it doesn’t take the best “motion” pictures. Or perhaps I am inept at taking those kinds of pictures.

    My sister has a Canon (similar level as my Nikon) with an amazingly great zoom, but I don’t think it’s as easy to use as mine.

    I hope that helps!!

  14. George Barber

    Robert,
    I suggest a high quality point and shoot with at least 10 MP. I have a Nikon D80 dSLR and love it but I rarely take it unless I’m taking serious photos. I have a good point and shoot and take it everywhere. A good camera is no good unless you have it with you. Most pros have both.

    Call me if you want to chat further

  15. Robert, you need to get a nikon d80 or the new d90, and a flip for the video camera.

    Any questions PM me.

    I have a photography business so have some experience here: http://www.shootstarphoto.com

    Good luck on the impending arrival 🙂

Leave a Reply

