A final lonely night

I know this may come as a surpise to many of you, but that bump that Morgan has been growing is actually going to result in a baby boy on or about February 3rd.  Morgan and I are keenly aware that our lives will change drastically when that event occurs.  But due to our plans between now and then, TODAY marks the last time I will do something for a really long time… have the house all to myself.

Morgan is currently on a trip to Union-PSCE where she is serving on a task force about something (she told me but I wasn’t really listening).  She left yesterday and returns tomorrow, so tonight will be the last time for the foreseeable future that I will be home without anyone else for a really long time.  I am guessing that after the baby comes that when Morgan goes on these trips, it will be “Mr Mom” time for me and the baby.   So, I think we are coming to an end of an era…at least for a while!

Being an ISTJ (if you don’t know what that is, then google MBTI and ISTJ) I actually enjoy periods of time alone unlike Morgan who is an ENFP (again google MBTI and ENFP) and my exact personality opposite who always wants to be around people.  So, on the rare occasion that Morgan goes on a trip somewhere like Calvin Center or Montreat or Union-PSCE and I have to stay home by myself for a few nights, I actually sort of enjoy it.  I don’t really do anything different than if Morgan is around, but I do get some time alone to recharge and as most introverts will attest to, that time is very much needed.  After a couple of days of it, I start looking forward to Morgan’s arrival home and life goes back to normal.

So, what am I going to do on this last night home alone?  Well, probably work on a research paper for class, eat some fast-food for dinner, maybe watch some Monday Night Football, if the game is no good then I will watch some show on the TIVO that Morgan doesn’t like (like Knight Rider or The Unit) and probably end up in bed at the normal time.  Isn’t that exciting?  What am I going to do when I don’t have nights like this anymore?!?!?!?!?!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “A final lonely night

  1. Debbie (Grandmother to be)

    Robert,
    I hope that you enjoyed your time alone. You are right, you may not have much more of that. As a matter of fact we are gooing to invade next weekend for the festivities and cannot waith to see you both ar all three as the case may be.
    Love, Debbie

  2. EMSA

    Robert,

    You will learn to find you introvert time. It may take a while, but you will. You can always send Morgan and the baby over here so that Katie can play with her new friend and I can play with my old friend.

    BTW, Your deck looks amazing. Impressed does not cover it.

    Elizabeth

Leave a comment