Not another PK

For those of you who aren’t down with the church lingo, PK is short for “Preacher’s Kid”.  I am one in a long line of PKs.  Matter of fact, I looked it up this past weekend in preparation for my brother’s ordination.  My dad, my grandfather, and my great grandfather were all Presbyterian ministers.  My great great grandfather was not a Presbyterian minister, but his brothers were (my great great great uncles) and his father was a Presbyterian minister (my great great great grandfather).  Today, my brother Kevin was ordained a Minister of the Word and Sacrament in the Presbyterian Church (USA).  So, Morgan and Kevin are part of the 6th generation of HAY Presbyterian preachers.  Here is a picture from the service today:

The family at Kevin's Ordination

The family at Kevin's Ordination

As you have been watching the Olympics, no doubt you have seen the Visa commercial with Morgan Freeman doing the voiceover about Nastia Liukin where he says something about Nastia going into the family business of winning Gold Medals and how hard that is.  Well, in the Hay family, the family business is being a Presbyterian minister.  And as hard as going into that family business is I think being a PK is harder.

There are two stereotypical kinds of PKs; 1) the all too perfect angels who think they are holier than thou and 2) the kids who make satan look sweet and innocent.  Throughout my life people have made the jokes and comments about me being a PK and being one of these stereotypes or the other and I have laughed and joked myself about it.  And if either one of these stereotypes were what Morgan and I can expect out of our child, then we probably wouldn’t ever have children (I know our parents thought we weren’t ever going to have children).  But, the truth of the fact is that we think that being a PK is special.  I believe that being a PK and being forced to grow up so connected to the church has made me a better man and Christian.  And so, even if I wasn’t married to a preacher, I would still raise my child to be that connected to the church.  I am so excited to know that the good people of St Andrews Presbyterian will be an important part of my child’s life.

And not all PKs turn out to be Preachers (despite the long Hay lineage of preachers).  Some turn out to be nonprofit managers (yours truly) or even famous.  I did a cursory search of the internet trying to find famous PKs just to make myself feel better that my kid might have a fighting chance at being something other than a preacher or a nonprofit manager.  Here are some of the famous PKs that I found:

Presbyterian PKs:

  • Condoleezza Rice
  • Steve Spurrier

Other Famous PKs

  • Tim Tebow
  • Danny Wuerffel
  • Denzel Washington
  • Alice Cooper
  • Jessica and Ashlee Simpson
  • Phil Jackson (both parents)
  • John Ashcroft

I have joked with some people that despite my strong Auburn allegiance that if we have a boy and if the boy turns out to be a quarterback that is good enough to play Division 1 football, that we might have to look at Florida since all 3 of Florida’s Heisman Trophy winners have been PKs.  However, the truth is that if he is good enough to play at Florida and win a Heisman, then he is good enough to play at Auburn and win a Heisman!!!  War Eagle!

If you know of other famous PKs please share them with us in the comments.

Peace

-Robert

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “Not another PK

  1. racher

    Uh, hello. I am 1. a PK and 2. famous. I’m not sure why I didn’t turn up on Google. It must be broken.

  2. libby

    don’t make jokes about having a kid that goes to UF; that’s not funny. this is serious business and being a gator is never appropriate. miss y’all

  3. Andy

    BILLLLL BRASKY!!!

    oh and Martin Luther King Jr.

  4. Katherine M.

    Congrats y’all! I’m so excited for you… and I love Making Hay… might be one of my new blog-stalker faves. Also, the ultrasounds are great… especially the second one… Baby Hay looks like a little peanut… can that be his or her name until it comes out? “Peanut” Any intuitions on what we think it’ll be?

  5. Tom Bryson

    hahaha, Alice Cooper, hahahaha

  6. First of all, congratulations on having a baby Gator. This is the best news I’ve heard in a long time. My most sincere congratulations!!! Now the Hays can come romp in the swamp with your most favorite alumna (cough, cough, ME)!

    And second … I don’t know how Jessica and Ashlee Simpson didn’t make this list. Oh, what the future holds.

  7. This post is too funny and I love your blog! Don’t know of any famous PK’s but I love the list you created! Who would have known about Alice Cooper? Go figure! WAR EAGLE!!!

  8. Dude, I’m a PK too . . . though my mom went to seminary after I did. All the glory and none of the baggage I say 😉

    Congrats to Kevin!

  9. Meredith

    Tori Amos is a PK!

  10. Robert

    Just learned that Katy Perry, the musician that sings “I Kissed A Girl”, is the child of two preachers…

  11. Aunt Patty Morse

    Alice Cooper is a PK?!! Must have been that 2nd type… (2) the kids who make satan look sweet and innocent. It just goes to show you are never too old to learn something new! Hopeevrything is going well with you all. By the way, I voted that you all were having a girl.
    Love ya,
    Patty

Leave a Reply

